ICC T20 World Cup 2012 Sri Lanka - Matches Schedule

ICC T20 World Cup 2012 Sri Lanka - Matches Schedule

Sri Lanka is the new host of the ICC T20 World Cup 2012, the tournament will start from September 18 2012 and will continue up-to October 12, 2012 Colombo, Pallekele and Hambantota will be venues for the tournament.

The format will see four groups of three teams in a preliminary round. England, the defending champions, and India are in Group A and will be joined by one of the Associate or Affiliate teams that qualify. The other qualifying team will be in Group B with West Indies and Australia. Sri Lanka, South Africa and Zimbabwe make up Group C, and Pakistan, New Zealand and Bangladesh are in Group D.

The top two teams in each group will make it through the preliminary round, after which there will be a Super Eight stage, featuring two groups. The format is essentially the same as the last edition in 2010, though there are four fewer teams this time.

The tournament will include two qualifying teams from the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2012, which will be staged in the United Arab Emirates from March 13-14 2012.

ICC T20 World Cup 2012 Detailed Schedule